Are Krispy Kreme Doughnuts Vegan-Friendly or Not?

Are Krispy Kreme Doughnuts Vegan

Doughnuts have a special place in our hearts. Nothing is as pleasing as biting into these sugary, melt-in-your-mouth goodies. Krispy Kreme is one doughnut brand most of us love, and everyone, including vegetarians, can choose from a variety of options. Vegetarians who follow an ovo-lacto vegetarian diet can enjoy Krispy Kreme doughnuts, but what about vegans? Are Krispy Kreme doughnuts vegan?

To know the answer to that question, you need to read on and know the ingredients of Krispy Kreme’s doughnuts.

Are Krispy Kreme Doughnuts Vegan?

Is Krispy Kreme vegan? Vegans and those on a gluten-free or dairy-free diet should keep their hands off Krispy Kreme’s fresh bakes. Krispy Kreme doughnuts contain eggs and dairy products such as milk, yogurt, whey, and butter.

Advertisement

Krispy Kreme doughnuts also contain wheat in the form of bran, germ, gluten, starch, and flour.  Other ingredients include vegetable shortening, enzymes, lecithin, and vegetable-based monoglycerides and diglycerides.

Even if Krispy Kreme doesn’t have a vegan option, vegans need not feel disheartened. Krispy Kreme has few drinks for their loyal customers to enjoy. Vegans can sip on espresso, black coffee, juice, and soda.

However, if you are looking for a Krispy Kreme vegan option, here is one vegan doughnut recipe you can try.

Vegan Krispy Kreme Doughnut Recipe Alternative

Here is a vegan doughnut recipe which will not make dense or gummy doughnuts like Krispy Kreme’s. This recipe will give you light, fluffy doughnuts that aren’t greasy and loaded with saccharine.

Advertisement

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar or white vinegar
  • ²⁄3 cup of non-dairy milk of choice
  • 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
  • 3 tablespoons of coconut or vegetable oil
  • 1 cup of spelt or all-purpose flour
  • 1 ½ teaspoons of baking powder
  • ¹⁄3 cup of sugar of choice or xylitol
  • ½ teaspoon of pure stevia extract or 2 tablespoons sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon of salt

Directions

Combine the vanilla extract, non-dairy milk, apple cider vinegar, and oil. Whisk well. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Grease a doughnut pan or a muffin tin.

In a large measuring bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, sugar or pure stevia extract, and salt. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ones.

Stir together and immediately pour the mixture into the pan. Bake the doughnuts for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, check if they are done and allow them to cool before removing from the pan.

You can top the doughnuts with jam, chocolate frosting, or glaze. To make the glaze, blend two cups powdered sugar and three to six tablespoons of water or non-dairy milk. The glaze should be on the runny side.

Enjoy a doughnut for breakfast, as a dessert, or as a post-workout snack.

Now that you know that Krispy Kreme is not vegan, you can use the above vegan recipe to make your very own vegan doughnuts. And trust us, they will taste far better than Krispy Kreme doughnuts.


Related:


Sources:

Fleming, A., “Krispy Kreme Doughnuts,” Go Dairy Free, June 3, 2010; http://www.godairyfree.org/dining-out/fast-food-restaurants/krispy-kreme-doughnuts.

“Krispy Kreme Doughnuts Dairy Free Menu,” Urban Taste Bud; http://menus.urbantastebud.com/krispy-kreme-doughnuts-dairy-free-menu/, last accessed June 2, 2017.

“Healthy Krispy Kreme Doughnuts,” Chocolate Covered Katie, February 22, 2013;
http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2013/02/22/homemade-krispy-kreme-doughnuts-the-healthy-version/.

“FANCY FOOD THOUGHTS: VEGAN GLAZED DOUGHNUTS,” House of Lovelock, November 4, 2013; http://houseoflovelock.com/?p=5717.